Can you believe it’s been a month? Part One

I still can’t get over that this time last month, my son made his appearance into the world. Its been a hectic, messy four weeks, I’ve been sick on, pooped on, weed on and sneezed on but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

“Nappies, nappies everywhere, poo and wee flying in the air” (I just made that up). Within bubba’s first few days on the planet, he pooped all over me. How did that happen you ask, between hysterical laughter, well… I was still physically in pain from my labour and decided to change my son on our bed under his changing mat. After taking off his baby gro and vest much to his discomfort as he was crying his heart out, he went silent and then ‘PAAAARP’. A whole load of yellow poop flew out covering me ans the bed and all I could do is smile and look down at my beautiful son, and of course my boyfriend laughed his head off and said “rather you, than me babe”. As the weeks have gone on I’ve learnt when changing my son’s nappy to always have a wipe ready to cover his willy. One day I wasn’t quick enough with the wipe and well you can imagine what happened next.

Something that was definitely a news flash to me was how stressful it is to introduce your newborn to the outside world. Firstly trying to get ready to leave the house was a nightmare, I’m getting ready to leave but suddenly bubba is hungry again and then you have to burp him, and minutes after putting him in his car seat you see him smile and go quiet… yup you’ve guessed it, he’s doing a poo and in fear of not wanting poop everywhere you get him out to change him again. I’ve quickly learnt that trying to leave the house with a newborn requires waking up a hour earlier than scheduled.

Oh the joys of sleepless nights, does it get any better? HA! The most sleep I’ve had consecutively is three hours during one night. Bubba’s sleeping pattern at the moment is two hours asleep, one to one and a half awake which is spent feeding, burping and changing his nappy. However everyday is a different day in the world of a newborn. What they do today is different from what they do tomorrow. Everyone always says “sleep when your baby sleeps” HA! (again) that’s easier said than done!  Today my son spent most of the day sleeping so here I am awake writing this blog at 1:30am struggling to keep my eyes open whilst my son attempts to drift off into a deep sleep

 

Author: frombumptobubba

A young mum experiencing motherhood for the first time.

Leave a Reply

